Comments and reviews on your holidays in Spain

For us, it is also an album of memories, a trace of your stay in our cottages and in our beautiful region of the Sierra de Salamanca.

If you want to read the latest reviews (all languages)

botónThis is a compilation of comments left in various holiday sites and on our private online booking system.If you wish to leave a notice of your stay, share experiences and photos, without going through them, you can send them by Email and we will publish them here.Do not forget to participate on our social networks.

Lovely clean little house with a beautiful view and wonderful garden with fruit trees and vegetables. Fred invited us to take what we wanted. Fred and Angela very helpful with information as there is so much to do in the area.

Margaret

Australia. October 2018

czek flag

An enjoyable stay in southern Salamanca. Fred and Angela are excellent hosts and Caño Chico was perfect for our four-night stay, during which we explored the neighboring villages and the area around Peña de Francia. Angela went out of her way to find us a restaurant that was open when we wanted to eat out, and Fred was kind enough to do a stargazing session with us early on the morning of our departure, for which we owe them both a debt of gratitude. Thanks again, Fred and Angela!
 
Ludmila Pocova

Czech Republic. May 2018

bandera inglesa

Such a lovely little casita! Felt at home right away! It had everything you needed including a fabulous view from the balcony and a gorgeous garden. Frederic and Angela were great hosts and told us all about the area. In truth, we’d travelled along way to get there and only stayed briefly so didn’t go further than a stroll round the village… it was just too lovely right there!
Intend to explore further next time!

Laurel

May 2018

bandera francesa

We highly recommend Frederic and Angela’s house. It was a really beautiful and convenient place for our family (5 kids). The bedrooms are spaceful and the kitchen is perfect. The garden is a pièce of paradise and we could even pick-up our tomatoes every morning! Frederic and Angela were always helpful and Frederic spent a lot of time to advise us and even showed us the stars and the night sky with his giant télescope. The village is very nice with few tourists but everything needed for a perfect stay. The region is very interesting for pedestrian walks, cultural visits and great food experience. It is definitely one of our best stay during our summer holidays!
 
Pascal

France - July 2017 (Airbnb)

ireland flag

Peaceful visit to a wonderful part of Spain:  We spent a week in Frederic and Angela’s Casas Rurales Caño Chico in May 2017. The village of Villaneuva de Conde is quiet, beautiful and relaxing and there are many paths and routes to walk around the village. It gave a real flavour of rural Spain. We stayed in the smaller of the two apartments and found it to be very well equipped, neat and very suitable for the two of us – the little balcony was a lovely spot to have breakfast. The garden is beautiful and one of our regrets was that we did not make more use of it. Both Frederic and Angela were very welcoming and friendly.and are excellent hosts. Frederic even went very much out of his way to show us the stars on our last night. We found the apartment and the area to be a total discovery for us and showed us Spain in a very different light that what we have previously experienced in Malaga. Our holiday there was both relaxing and refreshing. If you like countryside and seeing another part of Spain in a great apartment then Caño Chico is very suitable.

Noel Fitzgerald

Carlow (Ireland) - May 2017

bandera danesaWe had an awesome stay in Frederics. The house is in a charming village and absolutely wonderful. The garden is in a league of its own – our kids loved playing there and had great fun tasting all the fruits and veggies (sorry, think we ate all the raspberries). We will definitely come back.

Kamilla

Denmark - July 2016

bandera alemanaWe were Frederics and Angelas guests for a week at the end of May 2016 and had a great time at their apartment. Our two children (4 and 6 years old) loved to play in their beautiful garden and we could also relax and enjoy the wonderful view over the Sierra de Francia. The apartment was very well equipped and very clean, we felt very comfortable there. Frederic gave us marmelade and fresh strawberries out of his garden. And he gave us all useful recommendations to explore the region and very interesting information about the history of these wonderful old villages. We can really recommend Frederics and Angelas apartment.

Claudia Lumpe

Germany - May 2016

bandera inglesaFrederic and Angela where amazing, the house was beautiful and clean the views are really impressive, natural surroundings great area. could not say anything negative about our stay. The villagers where kind and welcoming. Just and amazing stay.

Daniel

Madrid - February 2016

bandera inglesaA gem in unspoilt Spain: We enjoyed a wonderful few days at Casa Chico. Frederic and Angela are lovely people, welcoming and hospitable. We loved the beautiful garden , the opportunity to see the moon, planets and stars through the telescope which was awe-inspiring and the fabulous countryside with views of snow capped mountains. The local walks are excellent, Salamanca is an easy drive away and we should have loved to explore beyond la Alberca. The house is small but very well equipped with some lovely finishing touches and good quality linen. The small shop 20m from the house has most of the things you would need for the week! There are 3 bars in the village which do good coffee!

John and Jane Nicholson

Farnham (England) - May 2015

canada flagFrederick was a marvelous host giving us loads of info on the area as well as giving us a very warm welcome. The accommodation was great his garden beautiful…everything was wonderful. The area in which his village is situated is delightful and there are wonderful walks from village to village…..thank you Frederic!

Sheila

Canada - October 2015

bandera holandesaCasita bonita. Excellent stay at ‘El cano chico’. Very satisfied with the choice for this friendly little house, and the extra’s: the view (Sierra de Francia), the village, the ‘alimentacion’ next door and the bar at the plaza plus the warm welcome by Angela and Frederic ( our ‘guide to the galaxy’ with his telescope). Good region for walking (cammino’s in abundance); also in winter very nice to be outside

Annette and Carlo

Eindhoven (Holland) - December 2014

bandera inglesaDelightful house and area. We booked this property after reading a newspaper article which said that the Sierra de Francia is one of the most beautiful areas of Spain and we were not disappointed. We stayed for 5 weeks and we would have been happy to stay for longer. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning, overlooking the garden, with the rising sun and Sierra in background. The house is comfortable and well equiped and the garden is ideal for sitting or eating in, with built in barbeque and fresh fruit and vegetables. Frederik and Angela are delightful and generous hosts with two telescopes to view the heavens for the astronomically inclined. We shopped locally in Villanueva (next door) and nearby villages. Both Salamanca and its two cathedrals and Ciudad Rodrigo are an easy drive. Most of the time was spent walking, with many enjoyable walks directly from Villanueva or from neighbouring villages. Thoroughly recommended and we would certainly return.

Eleanor and Paul

Brighton (England) - October 2014

bandera inglesaA lovely area. The apartment has a beautiful view of the sierra. It has a lovely, well -maintained garden to sit in and relax. The apartment is well equipped and comfortable and the owners friendly, helpful and tolerant of the many mistakes in my Spanish! The village shop is almost next door, and is well stocked.

Elspeth Fulton

Glasgow (Scotland) - September 2014

us flagFantastic week in La Fuente. We were in Spain for an event in Salamanca, and spent a wonderful week in Villaneuva del conde, staying at La Fuente. By chance we were there for the week long fiesta which made our stay even more special – great hikes and food during the day, flamenco, bands, dancing and much more all night. La Fuente was perfect: spacious, clean, peaceful, with fantastic views of the mountains, a beautiful garden, and it is right in the heart of the village. There is nothing negative we can think of about the accomodation. Frederic and Angela are wonderful hosts. They provide all the information for the area (hikes etc) and star gazing with Frederic and his telescope is an amazing experience. It was a real pleasure to meet them both. The kids really loved the natural swimming pool near the village. We have stayed in many Home Away or VRBO accomodations over the years, and La Fuente is definitely one of our favorites.

Julia Sang

Boston (USA) - August 2014

bandera danesaFeedback on our stay at villnueva del conde. Great house and a very nice village but small. Very good support from Frederic and Angela.

Mr Raun

Denmark. December 2013

bandera inglesaMr. Creusot was extremely helpful -dealt with any problems promptly. Our dog had to go to the vet before our return, in accordance with pet passport regulations. He arranged an appointment with the vet, and accompanied us there to translate if there were any difficulties. On the night we arrived, we had been delayed and, by the time we got there, the village shop was shut. He contacted the owner, who opened up for us, which was very helpful. The area where the house is situated is beautiful, with lots of well signposted walks…M. Creusot could not have been more helpful, the property was ideal.

Elspeth Fulton

Edinburgh (Scotland) - November 2013

us flagI cannot say enough good things about our stay last summer at Casa Fuente. We have 2 young kids (ages 3 & 8) and over the 6 weeks we spent in Spain, Casa Fuente remains their favorite week – mine too. If you are looking for peaceful village life, while still having plenty of nearby places to visit, this is the place. We loved exploring villages, swimming at the natural “swimming pool”, racing to meet the bread truck in the morning, enjoying the beautiful garden and picking cherries right off the trees in the yard. The house is rustic charming and lots of space. Frederic and Angela were so helpful and kind – even when we needed some urgent medical care for one of the kids during the stay. Our kids loved the telescope viewing that Frederic shared with us. We have been to Spain many times, but this is first time I have been compelled to write a review. Casa Fuente feels that special. We hope to be back!

Johnston Family

Seattle (USA) - January 2013

Reviews
5 (100%) 4 votes